June 7, 2008

What I Want to Be When I Grow Up

Posted in Uncategorized at 1:00 PM by ldyjarhead

Here it is, in print. I’m telling the world in a journal that I want to be a journalist. How appropriate.

There. I did it. I feel better.

I’ve done a lot of things in my life – As a retired Marine MSgt having served more than 21 years, I’ve traveled the world and have seen myriad wonderful sights, and have lived through some not so wonderful experiences as well.

I’ve held many titles including manager of a dry cleaning company with 6 stores, administrative assistant, receptionist, proofreader and editor for the nation’s largest radio research firm, assistant working with special needs children on the school bus. Toss in wife, mother, gardener, overseer of our small hobby farm with 6 horses – well, I consider myself a fairly well-rounded individual.

Is it enough? Is it ever?

I want to write. I want to be published. I want to be paid for what I know I can do.

I’m just now reading the road maps for my new journey, and deciding on what paths will help bring this new dream to fruition. Will I make it? Will there be forks in the road that could lead me elsewhere?

Stick around and read my story, as it is being written.

7 Comments »

  1. Lilaclady Mylot said,

    I think it is a very positive thing to do…put it out there for what you want and i am sure you will get it, it seems you are passionate enough…I say why not, you go girl….

  2. Terry Mitchell said,

    Hey Marie it’s tdmex from mylot. Wish you luck in your new venture! I’ll keep up with ya! I don’t know if you ever heard of Kim Komando.com I get a blog from her every Sat. and it tkes mabe 5 min. to scan thru. I was reading it this AM and thought of you! If you get a few minutes in your BUSY schedule you might wanna check it out, got lots of free stuuff there and info and free stuff for bloggers! She a radio host and a computer expert. Check out her site and you maybe will find something to help ya out! Your friend tdemex!

  3. ldyjarhead said,

    Thank you, Terry, I will!

  4. Young said,

    Ldyjarhead your writing flows like the river. It weaves like the tide. It roars like a lion and envelopes like a wave. Follow your dream mama and guess what kindly sign me up for the first complimentary copy of that which I know is already born!

  5. Hi Marie,
    Hiccup (Will) here for a short visit to see how you went, I had an idea you would go OK and that you did.
    Its all like Jullie Andrews, “Climb every mountain”, When I was teaching I said to my students, Gab life by the throat and Knock on every door and sometimes 3 or 4 time and make sure they hear you, some where someone will open a door for you. I am sure that applies here for you.
    But the good thing here is I know you have the training to do it.From what I’ve seen in mylot, it wont be long before that dream will be real, and so it should you are ready for that adventure now.
    I hope always a friend, Will R J.

  6. cosmicxpress said,

    Wow, what a great goal in life. Go for it. From what I have seen on Mylot of your discussions – there is no reason why you shouldn’t ‘go for gold’

    All the best and loads of good luck.

    Nicole S
    Violetdreams

  7. colbyzmom said,

    That’s awesome Marie Anne! I’ve been wondering how things have been going with you. Now I’ll be able to keep up. Blessings and good luck in your latest endeavor 🙂
    j


Leave a Reply

